936-327-8873

Texas

Interested in establishing your domicile in Texas? Take a look at the steps below to understand what tasks and forms should be completed.
The information contained on these pages is not to be considered legal advice. You should always check with your attorney to confirm specific state laws and how they might apply to your personal situation.

Becoming a Resident

Escapees Mail service members who wish to use their Rainbow Drive address as their physical address for domicile purposes may do so.

  • If using your Rainbow Drive mailing address, your county would be Polk County.
  • Contact professionals, e.g. lawyers, doctors, dentists, accountants, financial planners, and insurance agents, and social and/or religious organizations to begin your relationship with them.
  • Make appointments well in advance of your arrival as sometimes these professionals book up quickly.
  • Contact an attorney to update estate planning documents in accordance with the laws of Florida, or create estate planning documents. The attorney may begin preparing those documents in advance of your arrival.
  • Obtain quotes for vehicle and health insurance plans.  Please note that quotes from insurance agents typically expire within a few weeks of receiving them, so time this according to your arrival date. 

Driver’s License Requirements

  • Apply in person at any Department of Public Safety office in Texas within 90 days of establishing residency.
  • Current valid, unexpired driver’s license must be surrendered when applying for the new license. If current license is unavailable, you must show mail (such as an insurance bill) received at that address.
  • Complete the application provided in the Department of Public Safety office.
  • Present proof of vehicle registration. (See Vehicle Registration Requirements section below.)
  • Present either:
  1. One primary identity document, such as a passport.
  2. If that is not available, two secondary identity documents such as:
    1.  Original or certified copy of birth certificate,
    2. Certificate of Report of Birth (DS-1350 or FS-545) or Consular Report of Birth (FS-240) for citizens born abroad, or
    3. Original or certified copy of a court order with name and date of birth indicating a name and/or gender change from a United States state, territory, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province;
  3. If two of these documents are not available, present one secondary identity document (see above) and two supporting identity documents, such as:
    1. Social Security card,
    2. Form w-2, or
    3. Current unexpired driver’s license issued by another state.
  • Pass the knowledge and driving test, unless exempt (the Department of Public Safety will be able to provide exempt status.

Voter Registration Requirements:

  • Obtained along with the acquisition of a driver’s license

Vehicle Registration Requirements:http://txdmv.gov/forms-tac

  • A vehicle owner has 30 days to register a vehicle after establishing residency in Texas.
  • The vehicle has to be physically present in Texas to be inspected.
    • Before March 1, 2015, vehicle owners will be given a Proof of Inspection Form (VI-30).
    • After March 1, 2015, vehicle owners will be given a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR).
  • Once the inspection is completed and the vehicle has passed, the owner must go to the county tax office with the proof of inspection and proof of car insurance.
    • Vehicle owners that are still making payments on their vehicle will need to complete Texas Certificate of Title (Form 130-U), the Application for Registration Purposes Only (Form VTR-272), and provide current proof of registration.
    • Vehicle owners that are no longer making payments on their vehicle will need to produce the current title and current registration.
  • RV owners must bring proof of weight and a photograph of the exterior of the vehicle.
    • The registration fee is based on the weight of the vehicle. RV owners might find bringing a copy of the spec sheet, located in the RV, to be helpful.
    • The weight of 5th-wheels and travel trailers must be provided as gross weight.
    • The weight for motorhomes must be provided as unloaded weight.
    • A photograph is required simply for terminology purposes

Vehicle Inspections:

As of March 1, 2015, vehicles will no longer be issued an inspection sticker and your registration sticker will serve as combined proof of inspection and registration. See Texas Vehicle Inspection information for complete details.

If you are an RVer and your vehicle is out of state and you are unable to complete a Texas vehicle inspection in order to renew your registration, you will be able to self-certify that the vehicle is out of state and will be permitted to register.

  • Complete the Affidavit of Domicile (Loring & Associates, PLLC).
  • File forms with various state agencies.
  • Pay applicable taxes.
  • Meet with aforementioned professionals.
  • To the extent that is practical, bring your personal possessions, which are not housed in your RV, to your new county of domicile and store them there.

Voting Information

  • A voter registration becomes effective 30 days after it is received by the registrar of voters. You must register to vote in the county in which you reside. If you are submitting your application for registration by mail and registering for the first time in this county, you must enclose a copy of your valid driver’s license (with an address in the same county in which you are applying) or one of the following:

    • A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, pay-check, or other government document that shows your name and address.
    • It is our understanding that Escapees members could also use a copy of their Escapees Mail Service membership card (as long as it has their complete mailing address printed on it).
    • A Rainbow’s End rent receipt.
  • Texas voter registration applications are available through many sources. You can:

    • Download an application form from www.sos.state.tx.us
    • Request one from the county clerk.
    • Ask an Escapees operator to place one in your mail.

Once you have registered to vote, you may apply for a ballot. You can request a ballot application from the county clerk’s office (See “Voter Resources” below) or download one from www.sos.state.tx.us.

It is very important that you fill out your application for ballot carefully and completely. There are eight critical boxes that must be completed:

  1. Name
  2. Residence Address (the same one you used on the residence line of your voter registration)
  3. Type and Date of Election (example: Primary/March 06)
  4. Party Preference (You MUST select a party if voting in a primary.)
  5. Reason for voting by mail (out of county traveling)
  6. Special Instructions For Mailing Ballot (Most of you would probably indicate “Address outside of the county.”)
  7. Mail My Ballot To (When you are voting absentee, you cannot have your ballot sent to any address in the county in which you are registered, unless you are 65 or older or disabled.) Escapees Mail Service members who are traveling out of the state may have their ballots sent to the following address:
    Your Name c/o Escapees RV Club,PO Box 1578 Shepherd, TX 77371
  8. Sign Here (make sure you sign your application).

Including your phone number will allow the county clerk to contact you if needed.

The voter must personally vote and sign the return envelope.

For Voter Registration and absentee balloting:
County Clerk’s Office
PO Drawer 2119
Livingston, TX. 77351
Polk County ballot applications fax: 936-327-6874 
Polk County Clerk’s Office: 936-327-6805

To be eligible to vote early by mail in Texas, you must:

  • be 65 years or older;
  • be disabled;
  • be out of the county on election day and during the period for early voting by personal appearance; or
  • be confined in jail, but otherwise eligible.

To request an Early Voting application from the Secretary of State website.
Go to www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/voter/reqabbm.shtml and enter your mailing address.
An application will be mailed to you directly. This will save the step of requesting an application by mail from the early voting clerk in your county!

These web links can be used to research information on candidates and issues relating to the upcoming election: 
www.sos.state.tx.us/ – Texas Secretary of State
Online Guide to Texas Politics
www.lwvtexas.org – League of Women Voters
www.votesmart.org 
Texas Democratic Party Website
Texas Green Party Website
Texas Libertarian Party Website
Texas Republican Party Website

Driver's License Information

Apply in person at any Department of Public Safety office in Texas within 90 days of establishing residency. You will need to complete an application (also available at any driver’s license office).

Gather documents that verify your identity, citizenship, and Texas residency. View a complete list of acceptable identity documents.

  • Present either Identity documents:
    1. One primary identity document, such as a passport.
    2. If that is not available, two secondary identity documents such as:
      1. Original or certified copy of birth certificate,
      2. Certificate of Report of Birth (DS-1350 or FS-545) or Consular Report of Birth (FS-240) for citizens born abroad, or
      3. Original or certified copy of a court order with name and date of birth indicating a name and/or gender change from a United States state, territory, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province;
    3. If two of these documents are not available, present one secondary identity document (see above) and two supporting identity documents, such as:
      1. Social Security card,
      2. Form W-2, or
      3. Current unexpired driver’s license issued by another state
  • Your original, unaltered Social Security card, or fill out an affidavit attesting that you have never had one issued. To apply for or replace your social security card go to the Social Security Administration website.
  • Proof of vehicle registration and financial responsibility. (See Vehicle Registration Requirements section.)
  • Pass the knowledge and driving test, unless exempt (the Department of Public Safety will be able to provide exempt status.) If you hold a valid, unexpired driver’s license from another state you will not need to take the knowledge or driving test.
  • RVs operated for personal pleasure in Texas may require either a class B or A driver’s license if they meet certain weight ratings.

    Here’s the relevant info, excerpted from the DPS Driver’s License Handbook:

    CLASSIFIED DRIVER LICENSE (Texas Transportation Code, Section 521) The following listed Class A, B, C, and M licenses will be issued to persons who are exempt from obtaining a Commercial Driver License or persons who are not required to obtain a Commercial Driver License:

    1. Class A driver license permits a person to drive any vehicle or combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the gross vehicle weight rating of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds; including a vehicle included in Class B or Class C, except a motorcycle or moped.
    2. Class B driver license permits a person to drive the following vehicles, except a motorcycle or moped:
    3. Class C driver license permits a person to drive the following vehicles, except a motorcycle or moped:
    4. Class M driver license permits a person to drive a motorcycle or moped.

Texas Department of Public safety: http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/

Livingston Driver License Office : 936-327-6806

Texas Vehicle Registration Information